In my sleep I hear a voice, it’s echoic, and distorted, but it sound familiar. It’s Austin.”Uh, Will? You should wake up,” he says in a panicky tone. My eyes slowly open, I see Austin, he had his hand on my shoulder, apparently he was shaking me. I rolled over on my back and see the barrel of a shotgun aimed at my head, I am instantly awake. Shit! I think to myself. What happened while I was asleep?

“G-Get up,” the boy says (he can’t be older than 15). He waves the shotgun barrel over to the wall behind me where Austin stands with his hands up. I comply, slowly getting up off of the bed and back away to where Austin is standing. “L-Listen,” he starts moving the barrel closer to us, as if to prove that he is a major threat, “if you give me your supplies you’ll go unharmed, if not . . .” he let the sentence drop, as if for dramatic effect. Not knowing any other way out of the situation I kneel down and take a strap of each pack into my left and right hands.

“Stop!” Austin barks at me, I comply. “Put them down Will.” I listen.

“D-Dammit, if you give me the supplies I’ll leave and you’ll keep your lives,” he says. Moving the shotgun back and forth between the torsos of Austin and I, as if he didn’t know which of us was the greater threat.

Austin, keeping his cool and not getting pissed off, says. “Please, we aren’t like the zombies, we still have full function of our thoughts, we can negotiate. Will and I have enough supplies for three people and, as you can see, we’re a group of two. If there is something you need than please tell me, we’d be more than happy to give it to you.”

The boy took his shotgun in his right hand finger still on the trigger. “I-I need medicine,” he stops and pulls up his left sleeve revealing a chunk of flesh missing from his forearm. “One of those bastards bit me. I just need a First-Aid Kit.”

“Alright,” I say, and kneel down by the packs again and ug around in Austin’s backpack until I found one of the white tins with the little red cross. I got up, and held out my hand for the guy to take the kit. He takes it and puts it in his belt and walks out thanking us for the medicine.

“One more ghoul for the slaughter,” I say.

“Don’t be so gloomy,” Austin says bumping me in the arm with the back of his hand.

“I’ll go on watch now. You need some rest, you may be strong, but you’re useless if you’re tired.”

“You’re right, goodnight, and goodluck.”

I picked up my M1 I had against the wall behind where we were standing. At any moment I could have grabbed my M1 and put a bullet in that kid’s brain, but my God damned morals got in the way. I pulled out on of the wooden chairs from the kitchen and sat in the room. My legs crossed rifle in my lap, then lit a cigarette. First I had in two weeks.

Damn, I have no willpower.

As I sat there my eyes got heavy and I drifted away to the land of dreams, this is the first time I’ve ever fallen asleep during my shift.

